The Atkins Diet

The Atkins diet consists of four phases. During the first phase you will consume 3 regular size meals, or 4-5 smaller meals. You will make sureyou never go more than 6 waking hours without eating. You will consume combinations of fat and protein, staying under 20 grams of carbohydrates a day.

Phase two is the ongoing weight loss stage. The rate at which the pounds and inches drop will gradually decrease. You will also begin to increase your daily intake of carbohydrates by 5 grams each week. In order to have ongoing steady weight loss you need to stay below your critical carbohydrate level. Go over this number and the weight loss will stop.

To find your critical carbohydrate level add 5 grams of carbs a week to your daily plan until you stop losing weight. When you stop losing weight, that number of carbs you were taking in daily is your critical carbohydrate level. Stay under that number and you will continue to lose weight.

What do you eat on the Atkins diet? - Phase 1

During phase one you may eat liberal combinations of fat and protein from poultry, fish, shellfish, eggs, and red meat. You can also consume natural fat including butter, mayonnaise, olive oil, sunflower and vegetable oils. You can have salads and vegetables.

You want to avoid fruit, bread, pasta, grains, starchy vegetables, and dairy products other than cheese, cream, or butter. During the first two weeks do not eat nuts or seeds. You also want to avoid foods or drinks that are sweetened with aspartame. Stay away from coffee, tea and soft drinks that contain caffeine.

What do you eat on the Atkins diet? - Phase 2

During phase two of the Atkins diet you will be allowed to add more carbohydrates into your diet. You can add more of these carbs each week in this order: salad, fresh cheeses, seeds and nuts, berries, wines, legumes, fruits, starchy vegetables, and whole grains. You want to continue this phase until you are five to ten pounds away from you ideal weight.

What do you eat on the Atkins diet? - Phase 3

When you are on phase three of the Atkins diet you will have found your CCLL (critical carbohydrate level) and you are almost at your goal weight. Once your weight is stabilized you want to increase your carbohydrates to ten grams a week. This phase will get you ready for a lifetime of change, and train you and your body how to eat.

You may also consume some starchy vegetables in small amounts. Those vegetables would be carrots, peas, yams, parsnips, and belts. One night a week you may enjoy a slice of pizza or a baked potato and even whole grain bread. You may even have introduced some fruit back into your diet, for instance a ½ an apple or ½ a grapefruit.

What do you eat on the Atkins diet? - Phase 4

The fourth and final phase is your new permanent eating lifestyle. You want to avoid your old bad habits and make sure not to go back to them. During this phase you want to keep in mind sugar is banned forever, and you want to limit your caffeine and alcohol intake as well.

Who is the Atkins Diet best for?

The Atkins diet is supposedly good for someone who has a lot of weight to lose, and has high blood sugar. Remember this diet is a way to change your bad eating habits and give you a healthy eating lifestyle. Just like any other diet you want to exercise at least 30 minutes a day for most of days of the week.




Popular Recipes

Easy Dinner Recipes

Quick and Easy 30 Minute Meals

Dinner Ideas

Easy Recipes

Best Chili Recipe

Chicken Recipes

Puppy Chow Recipe

Bread Pudding Recipe

Meatloaf Recipe

Easy Dinner Recipes Week One